Return to the Forum Board Return to the Forum Board Show your Support for Morgan Webb

Watch X-Play on G4TechTV!

Home Page IHMW Forum Online Games Console Games Downloads & Misc. Members Only

Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> An Intern Speaks Out...
highway
  Posted: Dec 2 2004, 03:54 PM
Quote Post

Administrator & LIFETIME Supporter

Group: Admin
Member No.: 1

From the website link http://themacmind.com/ :

The Death of TechTV.
Nov 29, 2004 - 09:15 PM - Editorial - dark_lotus

DISCLAIMER: The following is a personal account of what happened during the final months of working at TechTV. Any opinions expressed are my own, and everything stated is true to the best of my knowledge.

As some of you may be aware, I was an intern for TechTV for the last 5 months of its San Francisco Operations. However long before that I was friends with Kevin Rose, and Dan Huard during the creation of the online show thebroken.

Here is the true story of the end of TechTV. Many employees were/are not able to discuss this due to their contracts and termination agreements, which is why you haven't heard a lot.

X-Play was the highest rating show on TechTV, and we were setting new records for the company every month. Call for Help, along with all the other shows were doing splendidly. It was a great time for TechTV. Comcast had just announced that it had bought TechTV from Microsoft Co-Founder Paul Allen. There were vicious rumors spreading around, but everyone was confident that TechTV would continue, the way it had been. At various X-Play meetings, we were told that it was financially more viable to maintain operations in San Francisco, rather than move operations to Los Angeles. Considering the production pipeline, TechTV was very efficient at what it did. It's shows also had personality, people you could relate too. Unlike G4's shallow programming, there was a personal side to TechTV, which I speculate is why fans of TechTV are so loyal.